Happy Birthday: Rizal Province

11 Jun
The province of Rizal marks its 108th anniversary today, which Malacañang declared a special nonworking holiday. The day Rizal Province was founded usually falls a day before Independence Day. It was made a holiday by virtue of Proclamation 1790, or the Foundation Day of Rizal, signed by Executive Secretary Eduardo Ermita.
In a statement, Rizal Gov. Casimiro Ynares III said the province’s “remarkable achievements” in providing services and infrastructure projects to residents would make the celebration much more meaningful.
Activities planned for today by the provincial government are a parade with street dancing, a live concert, a medical mission, a jobs fair and basketball exhibition games, officials said in a statement.
The focal point of the celebrations, however, is Teresa town, which officials picked as the host of this year’s festivities.
On June 11, 1901, the second Philippine Commission headed by William Howard Taft enacted Act 137 officially giving birth to a province named in honor of national hero Dr. Jose P. Rizal. The new province consisted of 33 towns with the merging of 19 towns from what was then Manila province and 14 towns from the Morong Politico-Militar district.
Over the years, the territory of Rizal diminished and is now composed of 14 towns after 12 of its most progressive towns were annexed to the area later named Metro Manila by virtue of Presidential Decree 824 issued by then President Ferdinand Marcos on November 7, 1975.
Source: Business Mirror

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: