Suspected communists rebels arrested in Maybancal

6 Feb

from Philippine Daily Inquirer

State forces on Saturday raided a resort in Morong, Rizal, owned by a prominent Manila doctor and arrested 43 suspected communist rebels attending a training seminar.

Lt. Col. Noel Detoyato, spokesperson of the Army’s 2nd Infantry Division, said those arrested in the resthouse of Dr. Melecia Velmonte, a consultant at Philippine General Hospital and professor emeritus of the University of the Philippines’ College of Medicine, were “ranking New People’s Army (NPA) leaders.”

In a mobile phone interview, Detoyato said the raid also yielded guns and high explosives. “They rented that place to conduct a seminar on bomb manufacturing,” he said.

>>>READ COMPLETE ARTICLE>>>

One Response to “Suspected communists rebels arrested in Maybancal”

  1. David A. Damaso March 31, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    I’am David A. Damaso, my Father is from San Guillermo, Morong, Rizal. My Father went to America when he was 18 years old around 1920, served in the U.S. Navy during World War II, was wounded during a battle with the Japanese Imperial Naval Forces. He was discharged from the U.S.Navy with a full medical Honorable Discharge. In 1970 My Father, Mother who is Caucaisan, and myself uprooted from Stockton, California, USA, and went to the Philippine Islands, were I watched my Father Build his dream. He built a home just outside of San Guillermo, and east of Morong. If you travel to Manila via Teresa, you can’t miss our home!!! My relatives now are living there and looking after my Father’s (Now mine) home and property. That home will always be his home and our family’s home. I miss the Philippine Islands very much, when I retire I will return to my Father’s home and continue his dream and mine, and that is to help my Family.

    Thanks,
    David A. Damaso

Leave a Reply

